St Augustine Parish
This historic church is located at 1839 Euclid Avenue in the Peaselburg neighborhood of Covington.
St. Augustine is a focal point and community gathering place for the Peaselburg neighborhood. Established in 1870, St. Augustine was the fifth parish in the city of Covington. The church was named in honor of Covington’s second Bishop, Augustus Maria Toebbe. Most of the early parishioners were German immigrants and first generation Americans.
The first church and school was constructed on Augustine Street near Willow (now 19th Street). The corner stone of this structure was laid in June 1870 and the building was dedicated on October 16th. By 1880, financial difficulties had the church and school facing foreclosure. Creditors had sued the parish in 1881. The churches assets were sold at auction on the courthouse steps. Fortunately for the church, the parishioners were able to pull their personal funds together, and purchased the combination church & school preventing its closure.
In 1883, Father Paul Abeln was sent to Central Covington to care for the people of St. Augustine Parish. He worked tirelessly to get the parish out of debt. By the time of his death in 1911, the parish was debt free and $34,000.00 had been raised toward the construction of a new church.
Work on the new church was begun in 1913, and the structure was dedicated a year later. Father William Kathman, oversaw the construction of the new church. The current church was designed by local architect David Davis (1865–1932), who also designed the 1910 Cathedral Basilica of the Assumption, Covington.
The church was dedicated by Bishop Camillus Paul Maes on December 20, 1914. The church stands 60 ft high, 52 ft wide, 92 ft in the transept and 160 ft long. Seating capacity is 1000. Much of the interior was decorated by the private donations of parishioners.
Construction of the existing school building, built of the same dark red brick as the church, began in 1915, and was completed in September 1916. That building was designed by architect Howard McClorey.
In 1995, the parish celebrated its sesquicentennial. Today, the church and school continues to provide a quality Catholic education for children in the elementary and middle school grades. The St. Augustine Church Complex was listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 2005.